UFC 96: Nobody Cares?

quintonjacksonvt3

By Garrett Bailey

UFC 96 is around the corner and I couldn’t be more unexcited about it. Unless everyone knocks each other out, or each fight ends in a gogoplata my feelings will stay “whatever.” Quentin ‘Rampage’ Jackson should be fighting UFC Light Heavy weight champion Rashad Evans. If I decided to start not buying a UFC PPV event, I would start with 96. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not feeling ‘jaded’ or over saturated with MMA events. In fact I need more. The NFL is on every Sunday, Monday, Thursday and sometimes Saturday during the season. MMA events are still too far spread apart.

This card needs a title fight. It’s a Fight Night in disguise. The best thing about this card may be the fight poster. If you haven’t seen it click here. Blame Rashad Evans, because even though no one likes him all too much, a lackluster card would at least mean something in the grand scheme of the UFC if there was a title on the line. Evans said he didn’t want to fight so early. In other words, at least when I read in between the lines, Evans means he doesn’t want to fight Rampage and hopes Jardine beats him.

Who understands this matchup? It feels like a squash match. It almost feels like Kimbo Slice against Bo Cantrell. Ken Shamrock against Ross Clifton. Almost. Kieth Jardine is decent. Decent enough. Yeah, I know he beat Chuck Liddell and Forrest Griffin. Inconsistent I say. Inconsistent. Houston Alexander. Wanderlei Silva. “Robbed” against Stephan Bonnar. Jardine loses too much but is great in highlight reels, when he’s getting knocked out.

I’m not looking forward to UFC 96. I’m looking forward to seeing Rampage again.

The only fight I like is the two heavyweights. Shane Carwin vs. Gabriel Gonzaga. Gonzaga brain farted a few times but he seems to be back. Carwin is knocking dudes out left and right and the UFC had no choice but to showcase his XXXXXXXXL size hands. That’s enough of being excited for UFC 96….on to more complaining.

The undercard is usually filled with guys I would like to see. This time around it’s only Tamdon McCrory. I’m un-amazed with Matt Hamill.  I think people like him more because he didn’t win against Micheal Bisping. Pete Sell vs Matt Brown has potential to be a good fight, only because they are more of the brawling type. They aren’t going to be fighting for a title anytime soon.

With all that said, I’m going to purchase this PPV.

Leave a Reply

