Thales Leites Knows He Sucked

At least Leites knows he sucked.

Speaking with Tatame:

I didn’t like my performance, because I trained a lot and I know I could have done better… I’m not arrogant to say that I could have won… It was all his merits, who annulled my game and I lost, but I know I could have done better, I could have attacked more, have been a little more aggressive, risking more things, as I was doing (before)… Now, this thing about people talking “Thales was five rounds with him and no one fought for real”… This doesn’t bother me at all, I’m a fighter, I’m professional and I’m always looking for the best performance and victory, of course. I know that Anderson is the best pound for pound of the world, but if you want to be the best, you have to fight the best. Anyways, I didn’t like my performance, I thought I could have gone better, as I was doing at the trainings, but I didn’t go well in the fight, his merit for annul my game.

Leites was also asked about his falling to the mat, “He is a dangerous man and that plays counter-punching, everyone who fought against him and wanted to hit was counter-punched and knocked out. I knew the beginning of the fight would be like that, we both were studying each other, I trying to overthrow him… I was a little afraid of striking and the knees.”

Leave a Reply

