Jits on This

n1281123404_389664_128728

So I’m the master at jiu-jitsu now after only less than 2 handfuls of classes. Just kidding. I’m a white belt. A noob in this jits world. Is it different than I thought? Sure, I didn’t think there’d be so many dongs in the locker room to avoid bumping into. No really, everyone likes to be naked. I don’t know why.

Other than that, and on a more serious note, (if it’s possible for me to be serious) jiu-jitsu in my life has made me a little more sane. Because I am truly technically crazy, just ask my doctors, a dose of jits does a mind good.

Twisting arm control was the last class I took on Monday, which was pretty sweet. It’s a basic move where you take the dude’s arm and make him your bitch with it around his neck and transition to an armlock if you want. I’m training at the Gracie Academy in Torrance California. It’s a really nice place, everyone is really cool. By really cool, like, really friendly because the last time I was in a locker room was high school on the football team. No one was all too friendly, especially during hell week. Guys didn’t like you if they had a feeling if you were going to take your spot, and then there were just some jerks I just wanted to punch in the face.

Last nights class was class number 1 on the scehdule, and I don’t know how other gyms are set up, but I heard that sparring takes place a lot sooner than where I am. But I really don’t care, as I also heard the Gracie Academy in Torrance is well structured unlike most other places. So back to class number 1, which was the trap and roll. That move is pretty basic but it still has a few nuances. They show this move to you your very first day there, so it was a nice reminder and good practice.

I was starting to feel a little stupid after the next move they were showing us, which was the leg hook takedown. I have a tendency to zone out, and then forget what was said when the instructors were showing us the move. But alas, a purple belt noticed I was having trouble and broke it down for me, and after that,  the move felt really good. The leg hook takedown works after the “bad guy” prevents the body fold takedown, so you step in, get close, sweep the leg and then they’re on the ground.

I don’t know what will become of my jiu-jitsu training or where it will take me, or if I would even be interested in tournaments or whatever those are called later down the road. Right now though, it’s just about learning the 36 techniques in the Gracie Combatives coarse.

3 responses

  1. Wardog

    Keep it up Garrett! I stopped BJJ recently because they stopped offering it at my gym and the other schools schedules kind of suck. I hope to take it up again this summer at a school that’s about 40 minutes from my house.

    May 10, 2009 at 8:03 am

  2. dude that sucks. bjj is a total blast of fun.

    May 11, 2009 at 10:10 am

  3. Wardog

    Yeah man. My instructor from my old gym is in the same boat. We are actually thinking of getting some mats and throwing them out in the yard and training. Go guerilla BJJ on everyone’s ass! A friend who owns a martial arts school is attempting to get a BJJ instructor at his school. The closest 2 schools have brown belts and their schools and he wants a black belt. But there are none within an hour.

    May 12, 2009 at 7:34 am

Leave a Reply

